Planning

I am a planner. I enjoy researching and finding the best way to get something done. I like to know all of the details of a task and have all of the tools and supplies ready before I begin. This is a part of who I am. It is a strength that I was born with. There are people who have to work hard at planning and preparation, but for me it comes naturally.

Planning and preparation are a big part of what happens every Friday night on the streets of downtown Tulsa. Clothing has to be sorted. The Food Truck has to be cleaned and restocked with coats, clothing, and all of the goodies we give away. The food containers have to be washed. The food for the next Friday has to be bought and prepared. Each Friday has its specific details to attend to. If all of these things weren’t taken care of, things wouldn’t happen smoothly any given Friday.

There is an importance in preparation; not just for the Friday Feeding, but for every part of life. Some things are anticipated and the planning and preparation is specific and deliberate but other things just come up and being prepared in these situations is just as important.

2 Timothy 2:15 AMP “Study and be eager and do your utmost to present yourself to God approved (tested by trial), a workman who has no cause to be ashamed, correctly analyzing and accurately dividing [rightly handling and skillfully teaching] the Word of Truth.”

That leads me to the other part of Friday night that I have to spend time preparing for. Talking with people and praying with them, there isn’t a script. We don’t always hear the same things. There is no way for me to know what pain and needs I will encounter. All of those things make it so important that I spend time praying and reading the Bible in preparation. So many times there is a scripture that I have read earlier in the day that speaks right to the situation someone is relating to me.

Planning things out really has its advantages.


Leave a comment

Filed under Real life

Leave a Reply

