Harvest

I remember my father talking about John 4:35 once many years ago. {Do not say, ‘There are still four months and then comes the harvest’? Behold, I say to you, lift up your eyes and look at the fields, for they are already white for harvest! John 4:35 (NKJV)}

My father was talking about how people at concerts would raise their hands during the songs. Thousands of them, and when you looked at that scene from the above it looked the same as grain ready to be harvested. I remember his words, “This is what Jesus was talking about.”


Living in the Tulsa Metropolitan area, there are churches everywhere you look. It seems that they are on every street corner in Tulsa and in the communities that surround Tulsa. There are small ones, medium size ones, and large ones. There are even extra-large ones that we would call Mega Churches. Even with an abundance of churches in the area, there are still people who do not know Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior.

When I drive by parking lots full of cars, and apartment complex after apartment complex, I am reminded that there are so many people right under my nose. Each day I come into contact with some of these people. I may be at a store, the library, or the post office but does the person in front of me or behind me need to know the love of God? Being focused, on task, and efficient are all good things but not at the expense of what is truly important eternally! I must allow myself to be distracted by the people around me. I cannot take it for granted that if I don’t say something that someone else will come along and say it. If I don’t say something that person might suffer eternally…

1 Comment

Filed under God's Love, Real life

One response to “Harvest

  1. Pingback: WILL YOU BE OBEDIENT AND ANSWER THE CALL OF JESUS? | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

